Current Affairs Awards & Honours

 Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk and Arsenal Women Football Club’s Vivianne Miedema were named Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Players’ Player of the Year for the 2018-19 season.
Van Dijk is the first defender to take the award since Chelsea centre-back John Terry in 2004-05. Manchester City’s Raheem Sterling and Georgia Stanway were named as the Young Players of the Year.
PFA Player’s Player of the Year:
  • Virgil van Dyjk, Liverpool.
  • Vivianne Miedema, Arsenal
PFA Young Player of the Year:
  • Raheem Sterling, Manchester City
  • Georgia Stanway, Manchester City
PFA Special Achievement Award:
  • Steph Houhgton: Former England and WBA.
Source- PFA

  Ex-South Africa all-rounder Jacques Kallis has been honoured with the Order of Ikhamanga in the Silver Division. The national honour is bestowed by the President of South Africa on citizens who have made significant contributions to arts, literature, music, journalism, culture, and sports. Kallis has been rewarded for his successful cricketing career. He played 166 Tests, 328ODIs and 25 T20Is, returning 62 hundreds and 577 wickets.
Source: Business Standard

  The second edition of Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize was awarded to author Rana Dasgupta for his 2010 novel “Solo“, a tale of estrangement and the ultimate failure of material existence. The Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize for social achievement was awarded to Yohei Sasakawa, for “his incredible efforts to uproot leprosy and great contribution to world peace”.
Source: Business Standard

  The prestigious Master Deenanath Mangeshkar Award 2019 was awarded to National Award-winning filmmaker Madhur Bhandarkar, popular scriptwriter Salim Khan and dancing diva Helen. The event was organized by Master Deenanath Mangeshkar Smruti Pratishthan charitable trust, Pune. It aims to encourage legends from the fields of music, drama, art and social work.
Complete list of Awardees:
  • Lifetime Award – Salim Khan.
  • Special Award for the contribution to Indian cinema – Madhur Bhandarkar.
  • Special Award – Helen.
  • Vagvilasini Award – VasantAbaji Dahake.
  • Mohan Wagh Award (Best Drama of the Year 2019) – SoyareSakal.
  • Anandmayee Puraskar– Pandit Suresh Talwalkar.
  • Award for music and art – Classical dancer Sucheta Bhide-Chapekar.
Source: Business Standard

  Dr. Benny Antony has been honoured with the National Intellectual Property Award, 2019 in the category of Top Individual for Patents and Commercialization. Dr. Antony has over 80 international patents to his credit. Along with the National IP Award, the Intellectual Property Office India and the World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) have jointly honoured Antony with the ‘WIPO Medal for Inventors’.
Source: The Hindu Business Line

  Dawn editor and Columnist Cyril Almeida from Pakistan has won the IPI’s (International Press Institute) World Press Freedom Hero award in 2019. He won this award for his “critical” and “tenacious coverage” of the civil-military relations in Pakistan. MadaMasr, an Egyptian news site, won Free Media Pioneer Award 2019 of the IPI and International Media Support (IMS). Both awards will be presented in Geneva, Switzerland on 5th June, World Intellectual Property Day 2019.
Source: Aljazeera

  Sunil Kumar Gautam, Special Commissioner of Police (Operations) was honoured with ‘Pandit Govind Ballabh Pant Award‘ for his book titled ‘Samvidhan Kavya‘. He was awarded by the Bureau of Police Research and Development (BPR&D) under the Ministry of Home Affairs.  The book presents the provisions of the Constitution in a simple and poetic form.
Source: Business Standard

 Indian-American scientist and social activist Sree Sreenath has been inducted into the prestigious Cleveland International Hall of fame for his contribution in applications in systems biology, global issues, and sustainable development. He earned BE in Electrical Engineering from Bangalore University and is currently serving as Director of Case GEMNI(Graduate Engineering & Management National and International) Programme at Case Western Reserve University.
Source: New Indian Express

 The Intellectual Property Rights Cell (IPR Cell) of Kerala Agricultural University (KAU) has been selected for the National Intellectual Property Award 2019. The award, comprising prize money of INR 1 lakh, citation, and memento, will be presented at a function to be held in New Delhi on World IP Day. The cell headed by C.R. Elsy has facilitated GI registration of nine crops from the State.
Source: The Hindu

  Prominent scientist and businessman Yusuf Hamied is among a host of Indian-origin experts honoured in the 2019 list of new fellows of the UK’s Royal Society. The 82-year-old chairman of pharmaceutical major Cipla has been made an Honorary Fellow of the prestigious body, comprising of many of the world’s most eminent scientists.
Source: Business Standard

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner