Current Affairs Appointments

 The Appointment Committee of the Cabinet has appointed Challa Sreenivasulu Setty as the Managing Director of the State Bank of India. Department of the Financial Services proposed his name to the Appointment Committee of the Cabinet for the position of Managing Director of the State Bank of India. Setty’s appointment has been done for 3 years. Challa Sreenivasulu Setty is presently serving in the State Bank of India as its Deputy Managing Director.

  Nripendra Misra has been appointed chairperson of the executive council of the Nehru Memorial Museum and Library (NMML). The Executive Council of the NMML has been reconstituted and it will be now chaired by Mr Misra. Dr A Surya Prakash, chairperson of the Prasar Bharati board, will be the council’s vice-chairperson. The Nehru Memorial Museum & Library (NMML) established in the memory of Jawaharlal Nehru (1889 – 1964) is an autonomous institution under the Ministry of Culture, Government of India.

  Union Minister of Tribal Affairs Arjun Munda was elected as President of the suspended Archery Association of India (AAI). The elections were held as per the Delhi High Court order. With the support of former AAI president Vijay Kumar Malhotra, Munda, the president of Jharkhand Archery Association, defeated Assam Archery Association president and retired IAS officer BVP Rao by a margin of 34-18. Pramod Chandurkar of Maharashtra defeated the Mahasim of Chandigarh 31-21 in the election for the post of Secretary, while in the election of Senior Vice President, former Haryana Minister Captain Abhimanyu defeated GA Ibopishak of Manipur by 32-20.

 Indian Lawyer Harish Salve was appointed into Queen Elizabeth II’s counsel of Senior Advocate. He has been appointed as Queen’s Counsel (QC) for the courts of England and Wales. His name featured in the list of silk appointments released by the UK Ministry of Justice on January 13. Salve and other appointees will be formally appointed as Queen’s Counsel on March 16 2020. The title of Queen’s Counsel is awarded to those who have demonstrated particular skill and expertise in the conduct of advocacy. Harish Salve did his LL.B. from Nagpur University and began his career with JB Dadachandji & Co. in 1980. He was designated as Senior Advocate by the Delhi High Court in 1992. Salve was called to Blackstone Chambers in 2013. He had represented India before the International Court of Justice in Kulbhushan Jadhav extradition case.

  A noted chemist Bipul Behari Saha has been elected as a bureau member of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) for the period 2020-23. He is the second Indian after CNR Rao to be elected for this position in a century. IUPAC is the largest global organization of Chemistry professionals. It was founded 100 years ago. IUPAC has the responsibility of naming all new elements and compounds, declare atomic weights and physical constants, update Periodic table and carry out research projects. It is comprised of 12 Committees and 8 Divisions.

  Anand Prakash Maheshwari has been appointed to head the world’s largest paramilitary force “Central Reserve Police Force“. The Indian Police Service officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre Anand Prakash Maheshwari has been appointed as the Director General of the Central Reserve Police Force. The decision of the appointment was taken due to the retirement of former DG of CRPF, Rajiv Rai Bhatnagar. Anand Prakash Maheshwari has assumed the charge of DG of CRPF and take over from the Director General of Indo-Tibetan Border Police, SS Deshwal, who was earlier given the additional charge of DG of CRPF. Anand Prakash Maheshwari was presently working in the Ministry of Home Affairs as Special Secretary of internal security. The Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) which was raised as the Crown Representatives Police (CRP) in 1939 under the British empire was renamed as CRPF post independence in 1949.

  The Union Government has appointed Michael Debaprata Patra as the Reserve Bank of India’s Deputy Governor. He was presently serving as the Executive Director of the Reserve Bank of India. He has been appointed in place of former deputy governor Viral Acharya left the position with prematurely resignation 6 months ago. Michael Debaprata Patra will serve as the Deputy Governor of Reserve Bank of India for 3 years. The other 3 deputy governors of the Reserve Bank of India are: BP Kanungo, MK Jain and NS Vishwanathan.

 A Sakthivel has been appointed as the new chairman of Apparel Export Promotion Council of India (AEPC) for the period 2020-21. He will replace HKL Magu. He is also the first person in the history of AEPC, who is sworn-in for the fourth time as Chairman of the AEPC.

  The chief of Delhi AIIMS’ ENT head-neck surgery department, Professor Suresh Chandra Sharma, was appointed the chairman of National Medical Commission. The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the appointment of Sharma for a period of three years or till the age of 70 years. Rakesh Kumar Vats, the secretary-general in the board of governors of the Medical Council of India (MCI), has been appointed as the secretary of the Commission for the similar term.
Source: The Business Standard

  Shipping Corporation of India has appointed Harjeet Kaur Joshi as the new Chairperson & Managing Director of the company. She will also hold the additional charge of the post of Director (Finance) of the company for a period of 3 months. She is a Fellow Member of The Institute of Cost Accountants of India.
Source: The Business Standard

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner