Current Affairs Current Affairs November 2018

 Co-founder Binny Bansal has resigned as CEO of Flipkart Group. This was announced by Walmart, the new owner of the e-commerce company. Kalyan Krishnamurthy will continue to be CEO of Flipkart, which will now include Myntra and Jabong, continuing to operate as separate platforms within the Flipkart business.
Source- The Livemint

 The big three of men’s tennis – Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer – were all among the winners at the 2018 ATP World Tour Awards. The trio were named as award winners in the prelude to the season-ending ATP World Tour Finals in London. Djokovic won the ‘Comeback Player of the Year Award’, voted by the ATP players, on the back of his glorious run during the second half of the season.
Here is the complete list of Winners of ATP World Tour Awards 2018: 
Sl. No. Award Winner
1. ATP World Tour No 1 (determined by ATP Rankings) Novak Djokovic
2. Comeback Player of the Year Novak Djokovic
3. ATP World Tour No. 1 Duubles Team Oliver Marach & Mate Pavic
4. Most Improved Player of the Year Stefanos Tsitsipas
5. Newcomer of the Year Alex de Minaur
6. Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award Rafael Nadal
7. Arthur Ashe Humanitarian of the Year Tommy Robredo
8. ATP Coach of the Year Marian Vajda (Novak Djokovic)
9. Fans’ Favourite presented (Singles) Roger Federer
10. Fans’ Favourite presented (Doubles) Mike Bryan & Jack Sock
11. Ron Bookman Media Excellence Award Sue Barker (BBC)
12. ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year BNP Paribas Open (Indian Wells)
13. ATP World Tour 500 Tournament of the Year Fever-Tree Championships (Queen’s Club)
14. ATP World Tour 250 Tournament of the Year Intrum Stockholm Open (Stockholm)
    Source- The Indian Express

 Jawahar Lal Sarin, president of the governing body of Alliance Francaise, was conferred with France’s highest civilian honor by French Ambassador to India Alexandre Ziegler at an event. France’s highest civilian honor ‘Knight of the Legion of Honour’ was bestowed on Sarin in recognition of his outstanding contribution to enhancing Indo-French cultural cooperation and promoting the French language, a French Embassy stated.
Source: the Business Standard

 The renewal of the early 20th-century ‘Shijo-cho Ofune-hoko Float Machiya’ has received the Award of Excellence in this year’s UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation. Ten projects from five countries – Australia, China, India, Japan, and Thailand – have been recognized by an international Jury of conservation experts in this year’s Awards.
Other Awardees include:
Award of Distinction:
  • The LAMO Center, Ladakh, India.
  • Award of Merit:
  • 5 Martin Place, Sydney, Australia.
  • Aijing Zhuang, Fujian, China.
  • Commercial Bank of Honjo Warehouse, Saitama, Japan.
  • Honorable Mention:
  • Hengdaohezi Town, Heilongjiang, China.
  • Rajabai Clock Tower & University of Mumbai Library Building, Mumbai, India.
  • Ruttonsee Muljee Jetha Fountain, Mumbai, India.
  • New Design in Heritage Contexts:
  • Kaomai Estate 1955, Chiang Mai, Thailand.
  • The Harts Mill, Port Adelaide, Australia.
  • Source- The UNESCO

     An Indian freelance journalist, famous for her investigative reports, has bagged the 2018 London Press Freedom Award for Courage. Swati Chaturvedi, author of the book ‘I am a Troll: Inside the Secret World of the BJP’s Digital Army’, beat shortlisted journalists from Italy, Turkey, and Morocco for her work in exposing the “IT cell” within the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for keeping an army of angry trolls. The award was conferred on Swati at the first award ceremony organized by the UK chapter of Paris-based Reporters Sans Frontieres (RSF) or Reporters Without Borders in London.
    Source: The Asian Age

      The 33rd edition of the ASEAN Summit has begun in Singapore. Prime Minister of Singapore Lee Hsien Loong is the Chairman of the Summit, which will continue till 15th November along with other related summits like East Asia Summit (EAS), Regional Comprehensive Economic Summit, (RCEP) and ASEAN plus summits. Fintech Conference which is a part of Fintech festival will also take place alongside. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and IMF, Managing Director Christine Lagarde will also address the audience.
    Source: News on AIR

     Union Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, and Chemicals and Fertilizers H.N. Ananth Kumar, also a senior BJP leader from the State passed away in Bengaluru. He was 59. Mr Kumar was diagnosed with lung cancer at an advanced stage in June. A six-time member of parliament from Bengaluru South Lok Sabha seat, Mr. Kumar was representing it continuously since 1996.
    Source- The Hindu

     Veteran theatre and Marathi film actor Lalan Sarang had passed away in Pune where she was hospitalized for a month for multiple ailments. Sarang was 79 years old.
    Source- Hindustan Times

      Palau has become the first country to ban reef toxic sunscreen by 2020 in an attempt to protect its coral reefs after the president of the country signed a bill into law. Palau defines the banned “reef-toxic” sunscreens as containing any one of 10 chemicals, including oxybenzone and octinoxate, which are found in the vast majority of sunscreens sold in the U.S., according to the Consumer Healthcare Products Association.
    Source- The Guardian

     Bangalore tops the index for the most congested city, and Mumbai in the second position, while Pune follows in the seventh place, according to a recent research published under the US-based organization, National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER). Conducted by a team of researchers at the University of California, Berkeley and three other U.S. universities, the research studies the current status of mobility in urban India, using Google maps. In another index of traffic speed, Kolkata has been found to be the slowest city, while Pune manages to hold down its position to the 20th place.
    Source- NBER

    You need to login to perform this action.
    You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner