UPSC History The Gupta Empire Question Bank Miscellaneous/Pre-Medieval Period

  • question_answer Arrange the following Magadha dynasties in the chronological order:
    1.  Nandas         2.  Sungas
    3.  Mauryas        4.  Haryanks

    A)  2, 1, 4, 3

    B)  3, 2, 1, 4

    C)  1, 3, 4, 2

    D)  4, 1, 3, 2

    Correct Answer: D

    Solution :

     In chronological order, Magadha dynasties are Haryanks, Nandas, Mauryas and Sungas. Haryanka dynasty founded the Magadha Empire in 600 BC, whose capital was Rajagriha, later Pataliputra, near the present day Patna. This dynasty lasted until 424 BC, when it was overthrown by the Shishunaga dynasty. The Nanda dynasty was established by an illegitimate son of the king Mahanandin of the previous Shishunaga dynasty. Mahapadma Nanda died at the age of 88, ruling the bulk of this 100-year dynasty. Chandragupta Maurya founded the Maurya dynasty after overthrowing the reigning Nanda king Dhanananda to establish the Maurya Empire. During this time, most of the subcontinent was united under a single government for die first time. The Sunga dynasty was established in 185 BC, about fifty years after Ashoka's death, when the king Brihadratha, the last of the Mauryan rulers.


You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner