SSC History Sample Paper NCERT Sample Paper-3

  • question_answer
    Who among me following was NOT a member of the Congress Socialist Party, although he encouraged and blessed its formation?

    A)  Achyuta Patwardhaa

    B)  Jawaharlal Nehru

    C)  Jaiprakash Narayan

    D)  Acharya Narayan Dev

    Correct Answer: B

    Solution :

    [b] The Congress Socialist Party (CSP) was founded in 1934 as a socialist caucus within the lndian National Congress. Influenced by Fabianism as well as Marxism- Leninism, the CSP included advocates of armed struggle or sabotage (such as Jai Prakash Narayan and Basawon Singh (Sinha) as well as those who insisted upon ahimsa or nonviolent resistance (such as Acharya Narendra Deva). The CSP advocated decentralized socialism in which co-operatives, trade unions, independent farmers, and local authorities would hold a substantial share of the economic power. As secularists, they hoped to transcend communal divisions through class solidarity. Some, such as Narendra Deva or Basawon Singh (Sinha), advocated a democratic socialism distinct from both Marxism and reformist social democracy. During the Popular Front period, the communists worked within CSP. Basawon Singh (Sinha) along with Yogendra Shukia were among the founder members of Congress Socialist Party from Bihar. Although a socialist, Jawaharlal Nehru did notjoin the CSP, which created some rancour among CSP members who saw Nehru as unwilling to put his socialist slogans into action. After independence, the CSP broke away from Congress, under the influence of JP Narayan and Basawon Singh (Sinha), to form the Socialist Party of India. Basawon Singh (Sinha) went on to become the first leader of opposition in the state of Bihar (and assembly as well) and Acharya Narendra Deva became the first leader of opposition in U.P. state and assembly.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner