UPSC History The vedic period - Early vedic period, Later vedic period and sangam period Question Bank Vedic Period/Mahajanapadas/Nandas etc

  • question_answer Match list 'A' with list 'B' and choose the correct answer from the codes given below :
    List-I List-II
    A. Shiksha 1. Ritual
    B. Kalpa 2. Grammar
    C. Vydkarana 3. Pronunciation
    D. Nirukta 4. Metrc
    E. Chhanda 5. Astronomy
    F. Jyotisha 6. Etymology


    A B C D E F
    1 2 3 5 5 4


    A B C D E F
    3 1 2 6 4 5


    A B C D E F
    5 6 3 4 1 2


    A B C D E F
    6 5 4 3 2 1

    Correct Answer: B

    Solution :

      Vedang are the auxiliary to the four Vedas essential for the correct interpretation of the Vedas. Mundaka Upanisad mentions that there are six Vedanga which are as follows:
    1. Shiksha is related to sound, letters, pronunciation, the method of teaching and learning of these basic elements.
    2. Kalpa: Vedic system involves Karmakaanda (system of prescribed acts and rituals).
    3. Grammar: - Vyakarana is considered to be a principal part of the six Vedaangas.
    4. Nimkta: - Nirukta is a kind of commentary on Nighantu, which is a collection of difficult words of the Veda.
    5. The composition of the Vedas indicates consummate development of the knowledge of the poetic meter, chhandas.
    6. The sixth Vedaanga relates to Jyotisha - astronomy and astrology. Jyotisha is considered to be the science of light, and it is looked upon as the eyes among the Vedaangas


You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner