UPSC Geography Climate Question Bank Physiography and Climatic Zone

  • question_answer The pacific Islands from new Guinea South East-wards to the Fiji Islands' group is called         [NDA 2009-II]

    A)  The Polynesia

    B)  The Mellanesia

    C)  The Micronesia

    D)  The Autralasia

    Correct Answer: B

    Solution :

     Mellanesia region consists of the four countries of Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, Fiji and Guinea. It is a sub- region of Oceania extending from the western end of the Pacific Ocean to the Arafura Sea, and eastward to Fiji. Besides these independent countries, Melanesia also includes New Caledonia. Maluku Islands and West Papua.


You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner